Files
2026-07-06 17:27:20 -04:00

10 KiB
Raw Permalink Blame History

type, title, description, jurisdiction, legislature, session, identifier, citation, classification, subjects, status, primary_sponsors, version_count, action_count, vote_count, first_action, last_action, source, source_identifier, source_url, source_hash, vintage, source_snapshot, retrieved_at, confidence, tags
type title description jurisdiction legislature session identifier citation classification subjects status primary_sponsors version_count action_count vote_count first_action last_action source source_identifier source_url source_hash vintage source_snapshot retrieved_at confidence tags
Bill Business associations. Amends the statute governing franchises as follows: (1) Specifies that the exemption from certain requirements of the statute that applies to a franchisor that sells no more than one franchise in any 24 month period applies with respect to the number of franchises sold by the franchisor in Indiana. (Current law does not specify where the franchise sales must have occurred in the 24 month period.) (2) Requires a person with a registered franchise to notify the securities commissioner (commissioner) of any material change in the information set forth in the person's required disclosure statement not later than 30 days after the occurrence of the event constituting the change, and sets forth specific events that constitute a material change. (3) Provides that the registration of a franchise with the commissioner is renewed at the time the registration would have expired unless the franchisor requests an earlier renewal date. (Current law does not allow for a franchisor to request an earlier renewal date.) (4) Provides that if a franchise registration form or registration renewal form is denied or withdrawn, the commissioner shall retain the amount of the fee submitted in connection with the form. (Current law provides that the commissioner shall retain $150 of the submitted fee.) Amends the statute governing continuing care contracts to provide that if a provider posts a letter of credit, negotiable securities, or a bond as an alternative to establishing an escrow account for the deposit of entrance fees, as otherwise required by the statute, the amount posted must be at least equal to the maximum amount of entrance fees reasonably anticipated by the provider to otherwise be subject to the escrow requirements. (Current law provides that the letter of credit, negotiable securities, or bond must be for an amount not to exceed the total amount of all entrance fees received by the provider before the date a resident is permitted to occupy a particular living unit.) Changes the term "interpretative" to "interpretive" in various provisions in the Indiana Uniform Securities Act (Act) with respect to opinions issued under the Act. Amends the statute concerning the licensing of collection agencies as follows: (1) Provides that the surety bond required to be submitted with a collection agency's original or renewal application for a collection agency license must be: (A) an electronic corporate surety bond that is: (i) filed by the applicant collection agency; (ii) satisfactory to the commissioner; and (iii) in an amount calculated to equal the sum of $5,000 for each of the collection agency's Indiana offices; and (B) filed through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System. (2) Adds to the list of qualifications that apply to: (A) individual applicants for collection agency licenses; and (B) individual officers or members who actively manage collection activities for corporate or other applicants for collection agency licenses. (3) Specifies that the secretary of state shall issue forms and orders and adopt and enforce rules and regulations as advisable or necessary to carry out the statute. (Current law does not specify that the secretary of state shall issue forms and orders.) Makes technical corrections. us/states/in Indiana General Assembly 2020 HB 1049 Indiana HB 1049 (2020)
bill
FRANCHISES
enacted
Jeff Raatz
Robert Heaton
Travis Holdman
4 22 2 2020-01-06 2020-03-30 openstates ocd-bill/138f315c-d450-4f36-81f9-9a10d9236b3f http://iga.in.gov/legislative/2020/bills/house/1049 033b11ba7dff62f22ae557b7b6400a45f5063dfa9d7679e710c88e40170398aa 2026-07-01 https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump 2026-07-06 reported
legislation
bill
us-in

Indiana HB 1049 (2020) — Business associations.

Amends the statute governing franchises as follows: (1) Specifies that the exemption from certain requirements of the statute that applies to a franchisor that sells no more than one franchise in any 24 month period applies with respect to the number of franchises sold by the franchisor in Indiana. (Current law does not specify where the franchise sales must have occurred in the 24 month period.) (2) Requires a person with a registered franchise to notify the securities commissioner (commissioner) of any material change in the information set forth in the person's required disclosure statement not later than 30 days after the occurrence of the event constituting the change, and sets forth specific events that constitute a material change. (3) Provides that the registration of a franchise with the commissioner is renewed at the time the registration would have expired unless the franchisor requests an earlier renewal date. (Current law does not allow for a franchisor to request an earlier renewal date.) (4) Provides that if a franchise registration form or registration renewal form is denied or withdrawn, the commissioner shall retain the amount of the fee submitted in connection with the form. (Current law provides that the commissioner shall retain $150 of the submitted fee.) Amends the statute governing continuing care contracts to provide that if a provider posts a letter of credit, negotiable securities, or a bond as an alternative to establishing an escrow account for the deposit of entrance fees, as otherwise required by the statute, the amount posted must be at least equal to the maximum amount of entrance fees reasonably anticipated by the provider to otherwise be subject to the escrow requirements. (Current law provides that the letter of credit, negotiable securities, or bond must be for an amount not to exceed the total amount of all entrance fees received by the provider before the date a resident is permitted to occupy a particular living unit.) Changes the term "interpretative" to "interpretive" in various provisions in the Indiana Uniform Securities Act (Act) with respect to opinions issued under the Act. Amends the statute concerning the licensing of collection agencies as follows: (1) Provides that the surety bond required to be submitted with a collection agency's original or renewal application for a collection agency license must be: (A) an electronic corporate surety bond that is: (i) filed by the applicant collection agency; (ii) satisfactory to the commissioner; and (iii) in an amount calculated to equal the sum of $5,000 for each of the collection agency's Indiana offices; and (B) filed through the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System. (2) Adds to the list of qualifications that apply to: (A) individual applicants for collection agency licenses; and (B) individual officers or members who actively manage collection activities for corporate or other applicants for collection agency licenses. (3) Specifies that the secretary of state shall issue forms and orders and adopt and enforce rules and regulations as advisable or necessary to carry out the statute. (Current law does not specify that the secretary of state shall issue forms and orders.) Makes technical corrections.

Version chain

The bill's text revisions, in order — the diff chain from filing to enrollment.

  1. Enrolled House Bill (H) (committee substitute) — source
  2. House Bill (H) (committee substitute) — source
  3. House Bill (S) (committee substitute) — source
  4. Introduced House Bill (H) (committee substitute) — source

Votes

  • HB 1049 - Holdman - 3rd Reading — 500 (pass) · upper
  • HB 1049 - Heaton - 3rd Reading — 970 (pass) · lower

Sponsors

  • Jeff Raatz — primary (person)
  • Robert Heaton — primary (person)
  • Travis Holdman — primary (person)
  • Carey Hamilton — coauthor (person)
  • Jeff Ellington — coauthor (person)
  • Matt Lehman — coauthor (person)

Timeline

The legislative action history — every referral, reading, and vote.

  • 2020-01-06 Authored by Representative Heaton
  • 2020-01-06 First reading: referred to Committee on Financial Institutions reading-1, referral-committee
  • 2020-01-09 Representative Lehman added as coauthor
  • 2020-01-14 Committee report: do pass, adopted committee-passage
  • 2020-01-16 Representatives Ellington and Hamilton added as coauthors
  • 2020-01-16 Second reading: ordered engrossed reading-2
  • 2020-01-21 Third reading: passed; Roll Call 33: yeas 97, nays 0 reading-3, passage
  • 2020-01-21 Senate sponsor: Senator Holdman
  • 2020-01-22 Referred to the Senate
  • 2020-02-05 First reading: referred to Committee on Judiciary reading-1, referral-committee
  • 2020-02-20 Committee report: amend do pass, adopted committee-passage
  • 2020-02-25 Senator Raatz added as second sponsor
  • 2020-02-27 Second reading: ordered engrossed reading-2
  • 2020-03-03 Third reading: passed; Roll Call 278: yeas 50, nays 0 reading-3, passage
  • 2020-03-04 Returned to the House with amendments amendment-failure
  • 2020-03-05 Motion to concur filed
  • 2020-03-09 House concurred in Senate amendments; Roll Call 328: yeas 69, nays 0 amendment-failure
  • 2020-03-10 Signed by the Speaker
  • 2020-03-12 Signed by the President Pro Tempore
  • 2020-03-18 Signed by the President of the Senate
  • 2020-03-21 Signed by the Governor executive-signature
  • 2020-03-30 Public Law 152

Source

OpenStates / OpenCivicData bulk snapshot 2026-07-01; origin ocd-bill/138f315c-d450-4f36-81f9-9a10d9236b3f. Confidence: reported (aggregated from official Indiana legislature records).