Files
2026-07-06 17:27:20 -04:00

8.6 KiB
Raw Permalink Blame History

type, title, description, jurisdiction, legislature, session, identifier, citation, classification, subjects, status, primary_sponsors, version_count, action_count, vote_count, first_action, last_action, source, source_identifier, source_url, source_hash, vintage, source_snapshot, retrieved_at, confidence, tags
type title description jurisdiction legislature session identifier citation classification subjects status primary_sponsors version_count action_count vote_count first_action last_action source source_identifier source_url source_hash vintage source_snapshot retrieved_at confidence tags
Bill School board matters. Requires a petition of nomination for a school board office to state one of the following: (1) The candidate's political party affiliation. (2) That the candidate is an independent candidate. (3) That the candidate elects not to disclose any affiliation with a political party or that the candidate is not affiliated with a political party and does not identify as an independent candidate. Specifies that unless a candidate who states a political party affiliation is challenged, the candidate's statement must be indicated on the ballot. Provides that the name of a candidate for school board office who does not run in affiliation with a political party or as an independent candidate must be printed with a blank space after the candidate's name signifying that the candidate elects not to disclose any affiliation with a political party or that the candidate is not affiliated with a political party and does not identify as an independent candidate. Specifies that a straight party vote does not count for any candidate for a school board office. Requires a school board vacancy to be filled by: (1) a caucus if the vacating member stated an affiliation with a major political party; and (2) the remaining members of the governing body if the vacating member did not state an affiliation with a major political party. Modifies the annual amount that the governing body of a school corporation may pay a member of the governing body from $2,000 (under current law) to an amount not to exceed 10% of the lowest starting salary of a teacher employed by the school corporation. us/states/in Indiana General Assembly 2025 SB 287 Indiana SB 287 (2025)
bill
EDUCATION; Local School Boards
ELECTIONS; Generally
ELECTIONS; Political Parties
ELECTIONS; Vacancies
LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS; Generally
LOCAL GOVERNMENT; Generally
SCHOOLS; Funds and Budgets
enacted
Blake Doriot
Chris Garten
Gary Byrne
J.D. Prescott
4 38 7 2025-01-13 2025-05-06 openstates ocd-bill/9b9044c4-03c0-46ca-88e6-a5a09b1f95a2 https://api.iga.in.gov/2025/bills/sb0287 14ceab2f26346a7434174ffd7d4085c382ea5f0d9b7553b2f00310a3422fcc26 2026-07-01 https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump 2026-07-06 reported
legislation
bill
us-in

Indiana SB 287 (2025) — School board matters.

Requires a petition of nomination for a school board office to state one of the following: (1) The candidate's political party affiliation. (2) That the candidate is an independent candidate. (3) That the candidate elects not to disclose any affiliation with a political party or that the candidate is not affiliated with a political party and does not identify as an independent candidate. Specifies that unless a candidate who states a political party affiliation is challenged, the candidate's statement must be indicated on the ballot. Provides that the name of a candidate for school board office who does not run in affiliation with a political party or as an independent candidate must be printed with a blank space after the candidate's name signifying that the candidate elects not to disclose any affiliation with a political party or that the candidate is not affiliated with a political party and does not identify as an independent candidate. Specifies that a straight party vote does not count for any candidate for a school board office. Requires a school board vacancy to be filled by: (1) a caucus if the vacating member stated an affiliation with a major political party; and (2) the remaining members of the governing body if the vacating member did not state an affiliation with a major political party. Modifies the annual amount that the governing body of a school corporation may pay a member of the governing body from $2,000 (under current law) to an amount not to exceed 10% of the lowest starting salary of a teacher employed by the school corporation.

Version chain

The bill's text revisions, in order — the diff chain from filing to enrollment.

  1. Engrossed Senate Bill (S) (committee substitute) — source
  2. Enrolled Senate Bill (S) (committee substitute) — source
  3. Introduced Senate Bill (S) (committee substitute) — source
  4. Senate Bill (H) (committee substitute) — source

Votes

  • SB 287 - Byrne - 2nd Reading — 1134 (fail) · upper
  • SB 287 - Prescott - 2nd Reading — 2763 (fail) · lower
  • SB 287 - Prescott - 3rd Reading — 5440 (pass) · lower
  • SB 287 - Byrne - 3rd Reading — 2620 (pass) · upper
  • House Rule 126.4 Recommit — 2658 (fail) · lower
  • SB 287 - Prescott - 2nd Reading — 2962 (fail) · lower
  • SB 287 - Byrne — 2624 (pass) · upper

Sponsors

  • Blake Doriot — primary (person)
  • Chris Garten — primary (person)
  • Gary Byrne — primary (person)
  • J.D. Prescott — primary (person)
  • Michelle Davis — cosponsor (person)
  • Mike Gaskill — coauthor (person)
  • Robert Heaton — cosponsor (person)
  • Timothy Wesco — cosponsor (person)

Timeline

The legislative action history — every referral, reading, and vote.

  • 2025-01-13 First reading: referred to Committee on Elections reading-1, referral-committee
  • 2025-01-13 Authored by Senators Byrne and Doriot
  • 2025-01-21 Senator Doriot added as third author
  • 2025-01-21 Senator Garten added as second author
  • 2025-01-21 Senator Doriot removed as second author
  • 2025-01-30 Senator Gaskill added as coauthor
  • 2025-02-10 Committee report: do pass, adopted committee-passage
  • 2025-02-13 Amendment #1 (Ford J.D.) failed; Roll Call 121: yeas 11, nays 34 amendment-failure, failure
  • 2025-02-13 Second reading: ordered engrossed reading-2
  • 2025-02-17 Third reading: passed; Roll Call 140: yeas 26, nays 20 passage, reading-3, reading-3
  • 2025-02-17 House sponsor: Representative Prescott
  • 2025-02-17 Cosponsors: Representatives Wesco, Davis, Heaton
  • 2025-02-18 Referred to the House referral
  • 2025-03-03 First reading: referred to Committee on Elections and Apportionment reading-1, referral-committee
  • 2025-03-13 Referred to Committee on Education pursuant to House Rule 126.4; Failed, Roll Call 258: yeas 26, nays 58
  • 2025-03-13 Committee report: amend do pass, adopted committee-passage
  • 2025-03-20 Amendment #2 (Errington) failed; Roll Call 278: yeas 27, nays 63 amendment-failure, failure
  • 2025-03-20 Second reading: amended, ordered engrossed reading-2
  • 2025-03-20 Amendment #1 (Boy) failed; Roll Call 277: yeas 29, nays 62 amendment-failure, failure
  • 2025-03-20 Amendment #3 (Prescott) prevailed; Division of the House: yeas 63, nays 27 amendment-passage
  • 2025-03-31 Third reading: passed; Roll Call 335: yeas 54, nays 40 passage, reading-3, reading-3
  • 2025-04-01 Returned to the Senate with amendments receipt
  • 2025-04-01 Motion to concur filed filing
  • 2025-04-10 Concurrence withdrawn withdrawal
  • 2025-04-10 Motion to dissent filed filing
  • 2025-04-10 Senate dissented from House amendments
  • 2025-04-14 Senate conferees appointed: Byrne and Ford J.D.
  • 2025-04-14 Senate advisors appointed: Hunley, Garten and Gaskill
  • 2025-04-15 House advisors appointed: Wesco, Davis, Heaton, Boy, Errington and Pryor
  • 2025-04-15 House conferees appointed: Prescott and Jackson C
  • 2025-04-22 Motion to concur filed filing
  • 2025-04-22 Dissent rescinded
  • 2025-04-29 Signed by the President of the Senate passage
  • 2025-04-25 Signed by the Speaker passage
  • 2025-04-24 Senate concurred with House amendments; Roll Call 504: yeas 26, nays 24
  • 2025-04-24 Signed by the President Pro Tempore passage
  • 2025-05-06 Public Law 195 became-law
  • 2025-05-06 Signed by the Governor executive-signature

Source

OpenStates / OpenCivicData bulk snapshot 2026-07-01; origin ocd-bill/9b9044c4-03c0-46ca-88e6-a5a09b1f95a2. Confidence: reported (aggregated from official Indiana legislature records).