Files
2026-07-06 17:28:36 -04:00

8.0 KiB
Raw Permalink Blame History

type, title, description, jurisdiction, legislature, session, identifier, citation, classification, subjects, status, primary_sponsors, version_count, action_count, vote_count, first_action, last_action, source, source_identifier, source_url, source_hash, vintage, source_snapshot, retrieved_at, confidence, tags
type title description jurisdiction legislature session identifier citation classification subjects status primary_sponsors version_count action_count vote_count first_action last_action source source_identifier source_url source_hash vintage source_snapshot retrieved_at confidence tags
Bill School boards; boards permitted to enter into College and Career Access Pathways Partnerships. Permits each local school board to enter into College and Career Access Pathways Partnerships (Partnerships), currently referred to as agreements, with comprehensive community colleges or other public institutions of higher education or educational institutions that offer a career and technical education curriculum. The bill requires any such Partnership to (i) specify the options for students to take courses as part of the career and technical education curriculum that lead to course credit or an industry-recognized credential, certification, or license concurrent with a high school diploma; (ii) specify the credit, credentials, certifications, or licenses available for such courses; and (iii) specify available options for students to participate in pre-apprenticeship and apprenticeship programs at comprehensive community colleges concurrent with the pursuit of a high school diploma and receive college credit and high school credit for successful completion of any such program. Current law allows local school boards to enter into agreements with such institutions but does not specify course credit as being part of the agreements. The bill provides that participation by a student in any course pursuant to the Partnerships does not deem such student eligible for a grant pursuant to the New Economy Workforce Credential Grant Program. us/states/va Virginia General Assembly 2019 HB 2123 Virginia HB 2123 (2019)
bill
Education
enacted
Jennifer Carroll Foy
7 28 10 2019-01-08 2019-03-18 openstates ocd-bill/7e2878c3-4a2d-43ec-a977-df93d4e25343 http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+sum+HB2123 9256e18f8df5b19a995c5a61ef150c52ac0562336f3593cdf3aec47eec45f678 2026-07-01 https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump 2026-07-06 reported
legislation
bill
us-va

Virginia HB 2123 (2019) — School boards; boards permitted to enter into College and Career Access Pathways Partnerships.

Permits each local school board to enter into College and Career Access Pathways Partnerships (Partnerships), currently referred to as agreements, with comprehensive community colleges or other public institutions of higher education or educational institutions that offer a career and technical education curriculum. The bill requires any such Partnership to (i) specify the options for students to take courses as part of the career and technical education curriculum that lead to course credit or an industry-recognized credential, certification, or license concurrent with a high school diploma; (ii) specify the credit, credentials, certifications, or licenses available for such courses; and (iii) specify available options for students to participate in pre-apprenticeship and apprenticeship programs at comprehensive community colleges concurrent with the pursuit of a high school diploma and receive college credit and high school credit for successful completion of any such program. Current law allows local school boards to enter into agreements with such institutions but does not specify course credit as being part of the agreements. The bill provides that participation by a student in any course pursuant to the Partnerships does not deem such student eligible for a grant pursuant to the New Economy Workforce Credential Grant Program.

Version chain

The bill's text revisions, in order — the diff chain from filing to enrollment.

  1. Governor: Acts of Assembly Chapter text (CHAP0582) (committee substitute) — source
  2. House amendments adopted (committee substitute) — source
  3. House subcommittee amendments and substitutes adopted (committee substitute) — source
  4. House: Bill text as passed House and Senate (HB2123ER) (committee substitute) — source
  5. House: Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/09/19 19103701D (committee substitute) — source
  6. House: Printed as engrossed 19103701D-E (committee substitute) — source
  7. Senate amendments engrossed (committee substitute) — source

Votes

  • Reported from Education and Health — 150 (pass) · upper
  • Reported from Appropriations — 220 (pass) · lower
  • Senate amendment agreed to by House — 1000 (pass) · lower
  • Reported from Education with amendments — 192 (pass) · lower
  • Subcommittee recommends reporting — 70 (pass) · lower
  • Subcommittee recommends reporting with amendments — 80 (pass) · lower
  • Reported from Finance with amendment — 150 (pass) · upper
  • Read third time and passed House — 980 (pass) · lower
  • Passed Senate with amendment — 400 (pass) · upper
  • Constitutional reading dispensed — 400 (pass) · upper

Sponsors

  • Jennifer Carroll Foy — primary (person)
  • Betsy B. Carr — cosponsor (person)
  • Debra H. Rodman — cosponsor (person)
  • Delores L. McQuinn — cosponsor (person)
  • Elizabeth R. Guzman — cosponsor (person)
  • Glenn R. Davis — cosponsor (person)
  • Kathy K.L. Tran — cosponsor (person)
  • Lamont Bagby — cosponsor (person)
  • Mark L. Keam — cosponsor (person)
  • Roslyn C. Tyler — cosponsor (person)
  • Wendy W. Gooditis — cosponsor (person)

Timeline

The legislative action history — every referral, reading, and vote.

  • 2019-01-08 Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/09/19 19103701D introduction
  • 2019-01-08 Referred to Committee on Education referral-committee
  • 2019-01-18 Assigned Education sub: Subcommittee #3 referral-committee
  • 2019-01-21 Subcommittee recommends referring to Committee on Appropriations
  • 2019-01-23 Referred to Committee on Appropriations referral-committee
  • 2019-01-23 Assigned App. sub: Elementary & Secondary Education referral-committee
  • 2019-02-01 Read first time reading-1
  • 2019-02-04 Read second time reading-2
  • 2019-02-04 Committee amendments agreed to
  • 2019-02-04 Engrossed by House as amended HB2123E
  • 2019-02-04 Printed as engrossed 19103701D-E
  • 2019-02-05 Read third time and passed House (98-Y 0-N) passage, reading-3
  • 2019-02-06 Constitutional reading dispensed
  • 2019-02-06 Referred to Committee on Education and Health referral-committee
  • 2019-02-07 Assigned Education sub: Public Education referral-committee
  • 2019-02-14 Rereferred to Finance referral-committee
  • 2019-02-20 Read third time reading-3
  • 2019-02-20 Reading of amendment waived
  • 2019-02-20 Committee amendment agreed to
  • 2019-02-20 Engrossed by Senate as amended
  • 2019-02-21 Placed on Calendar
  • 2019-02-21 Senate amendment agreed to by House (100-Y 0-N)
  • 2019-02-23 Enrolled
  • 2019-02-23 Signed by Speaker
  • 2019-02-23 Signed by President
  • 2019-03-04 Enrolled Bill communicated to Governor on March 4, 2019
  • 2019-03-04 Governor's Action Deadline Midnight, March 26, 2019
  • 2019-03-18 Approved by Governor-Chapter 582 (effective 7/1/19) executive-signature

Source

OpenStates / OpenCivicData bulk snapshot 2026-07-01; origin ocd-bill/7e2878c3-4a2d-43ec-a977-df93d4e25343. Confidence: reported (aggregated from official Virginia legislature records).