5941153bb7
Co-Authored-By: Claude Opus 4.8 <noreply@anthropic.com>
111 lines
8.6 KiB
Markdown
111 lines
8.6 KiB
Markdown
---
|
||
type: "Bill"
|
||
title: "School board matters."
|
||
description: "Requires a petition of nomination for a school board office to state one of the following: (1) The candidate's political party affiliation. (2) That the candidate is an independent candidate. (3) That the candidate elects not to disclose any affiliation with a political party or that the candidate is not affiliated with a political party and does not identify as an independent candidate. Specifies that unless a candidate who states a political party affiliation is challenged, the candidate's statement must be indicated on the ballot. Provides that the name of a candidate for school board office who does not run in affiliation with a political party or as an independent candidate must be printed with a blank space after the candidate's name signifying that the candidate elects not to disclose any affiliation with a political party or that the candidate is not affiliated with a political party and does not identify as an independent candidate. Specifies that a straight party vote does not count for any candidate for a school board office. Requires a school board vacancy to be filled by: (1) a caucus if the vacating member stated an affiliation with a major political party; and (2) the remaining members of the governing body if the vacating member did not state an affiliation with a major political party. Modifies the annual amount that the governing body of a school corporation may pay a member of the governing body from $2,000 (under current law) to an amount not to exceed 10% of the lowest starting salary of a teacher employed by the school corporation."
|
||
jurisdiction: "us/states/in"
|
||
legislature: "Indiana General Assembly"
|
||
session: "2025"
|
||
identifier: "SB 287"
|
||
citation: "Indiana SB 287 (2025)"
|
||
classification: ["bill"]
|
||
subjects: ["EDUCATION; Local School Boards", "ELECTIONS; Generally", "ELECTIONS; Political Parties", "ELECTIONS; Vacancies", "LOCAL ELECTED OFFICIALS; Generally", "LOCAL GOVERNMENT; Generally", "SCHOOLS; Funds and Budgets"]
|
||
status: "enacted"
|
||
primary_sponsors: ["Blake Doriot", "Chris Garten", "Gary Byrne", "J.D. Prescott"]
|
||
version_count: 4
|
||
action_count: 38
|
||
vote_count: 7
|
||
first_action: "2025-01-13"
|
||
last_action: "2025-05-06"
|
||
source: "openstates"
|
||
source_identifier: "ocd-bill/9b9044c4-03c0-46ca-88e6-a5a09b1f95a2"
|
||
source_url: "https://api.iga.in.gov/2025/bills/sb0287"
|
||
source_hash: "14ceab2f26346a7434174ffd7d4085c382ea5f0d9b7553b2f00310a3422fcc26"
|
||
vintage: "2026-07-01"
|
||
source_snapshot: "https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump"
|
||
retrieved_at: "2026-07-06"
|
||
confidence: "reported"
|
||
tags: ["legislation", "bill", "us-in"]
|
||
---
|
||
|
||
# Indiana SB 287 (2025) — School board matters.
|
||
|
||
Requires a petition of nomination for a school board office to state one of the following: (1) The candidate's political party affiliation. (2) That the candidate is an independent candidate. (3) That the candidate elects not to disclose any affiliation with a political party or that the candidate is not affiliated with a political party and does not identify as an independent candidate. Specifies that unless a candidate who states a political party affiliation is challenged, the candidate's statement must be indicated on the ballot. Provides that the name of a candidate for school board office who does not run in affiliation with a political party or as an independent candidate must be printed with a blank space after the candidate's name signifying that the candidate elects not to disclose any affiliation with a political party or that the candidate is not affiliated with a political party and does not identify as an independent candidate. Specifies that a straight party vote does not count for any candidate for a school board office. Requires a school board vacancy to be filled by: (1) a caucus if the vacating member stated an affiliation with a major political party; and (2) the remaining members of the governing body if the vacating member did not state an affiliation with a major political party. Modifies the annual amount that the governing body of a school corporation may pay a member of the governing body from $2,000 (under current law) to an amount not to exceed 10% of the lowest starting salary of a teacher employed by the school corporation.
|
||
|
||
## Version chain
|
||
|
||
The bill's text revisions, in order — the diff chain from filing to enrollment.
|
||
|
||
1. **Engrossed Senate Bill (S)** (committee substitute) — [source](https://iga.in.gov/pdf-documents/124/2025/senate/bills/SB0287/SB0287.04.ENGH.pdf)
|
||
2. **Enrolled Senate Bill (S)** (committee substitute) — [source](https://iga.in.gov/pdf-documents/124/2025/senate/bills/SB0287/SB0287.05.ENRH.pdf)
|
||
3. **Introduced Senate Bill (S)** (committee substitute) — [source](https://iga.in.gov/pdf-documents/124/2025/senate/bills/SB0287/SB0287.01.INTR.pdf)
|
||
4. **Senate Bill (H)** (committee substitute) — [source](https://iga.in.gov/pdf-documents/124/2025/senate/bills/SB0287/SB0287.03.COMH.pdf)
|
||
|
||
## Votes
|
||
|
||
- SB 287 - Byrne - 2nd Reading — **11–34** (fail) · upper
|
||
- SB 287 - Prescott - 2nd Reading — **27–63** (fail) · lower
|
||
- SB 287 - Prescott - 3rd Reading — **54–40** (pass) · lower
|
||
- SB 287 - Byrne - 3rd Reading — **26–20** (pass) · upper
|
||
- House Rule 126.4 Recommit — **26–58** (fail) · lower
|
||
- SB 287 - Prescott - 2nd Reading — **29–62** (fail) · lower
|
||
- SB 287 - Byrne — **26–24** (pass) · upper
|
||
|
||
## Sponsors
|
||
|
||
- Blake Doriot — primary (person)
|
||
- Chris Garten — primary (person)
|
||
- Gary Byrne — primary (person)
|
||
- J.D. Prescott — primary (person)
|
||
- Michelle Davis — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Mike Gaskill — coauthor (person)
|
||
- Robert Heaton — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Timothy Wesco — cosponsor (person)
|
||
|
||
## Timeline
|
||
|
||
The legislative action history — every referral, reading, and vote.
|
||
|
||
- **2025-01-13** First reading: referred to Committee on Elections `reading-1, referral-committee`
|
||
- **2025-01-13** Authored by Senators Byrne and Doriot
|
||
- **2025-01-21** Senator Doriot added as third author
|
||
- **2025-01-21** Senator Garten added as second author
|
||
- **2025-01-21** Senator Doriot removed as second author
|
||
- **2025-01-30** Senator Gaskill added as coauthor
|
||
- **2025-02-10** Committee report: do pass, adopted `committee-passage`
|
||
- **2025-02-13** Amendment #1 (Ford J.D.) failed; Roll Call 121: yeas 11, nays 34 `amendment-failure, failure`
|
||
- **2025-02-13** Second reading: ordered engrossed `reading-2`
|
||
- **2025-02-17** Third reading: passed; Roll Call 140: yeas 26, nays 20 `passage, reading-3, reading-3`
|
||
- **2025-02-17** House sponsor: Representative Prescott
|
||
- **2025-02-17** Cosponsors: Representatives Wesco, Davis, Heaton
|
||
- **2025-02-18** Referred to the House `referral`
|
||
- **2025-03-03** First reading: referred to Committee on Elections and Apportionment `reading-1, referral-committee`
|
||
- **2025-03-13** Referred to Committee on Education pursuant to House Rule 126.4; Failed, Roll Call 258: yeas 26, nays 58
|
||
- **2025-03-13** Committee report: amend do pass, adopted `committee-passage`
|
||
- **2025-03-20** Amendment #2 (Errington) failed; Roll Call 278: yeas 27, nays 63 `amendment-failure, failure`
|
||
- **2025-03-20** Second reading: amended, ordered engrossed `reading-2`
|
||
- **2025-03-20** Amendment #1 (Boy) failed; Roll Call 277: yeas 29, nays 62 `amendment-failure, failure`
|
||
- **2025-03-20** Amendment #3 (Prescott) prevailed; Division of the House: yeas 63, nays 27 `amendment-passage`
|
||
- **2025-03-31** Third reading: passed; Roll Call 335: yeas 54, nays 40 `passage, reading-3, reading-3`
|
||
- **2025-04-01** Returned to the Senate with amendments `receipt`
|
||
- **2025-04-01** Motion to concur filed `filing`
|
||
- **2025-04-10** Concurrence withdrawn `withdrawal`
|
||
- **2025-04-10** Motion to dissent filed `filing`
|
||
- **2025-04-10** Senate dissented from House amendments
|
||
- **2025-04-14** Senate conferees appointed: Byrne and Ford J.D.
|
||
- **2025-04-14** Senate advisors appointed: Hunley, Garten and Gaskill
|
||
- **2025-04-15** House advisors appointed: Wesco, Davis, Heaton, Boy, Errington and Pryor
|
||
- **2025-04-15** House conferees appointed: Prescott and Jackson C
|
||
- **2025-04-22** Motion to concur filed `filing`
|
||
- **2025-04-22** Dissent rescinded
|
||
- **2025-04-29** Signed by the President of the Senate `passage`
|
||
- **2025-04-25** Signed by the Speaker `passage`
|
||
- **2025-04-24** Senate concurred with House amendments; Roll Call 504: yeas 26, nays 24
|
||
- **2025-04-24** Signed by the President Pro Tempore `passage`
|
||
- **2025-05-06** Public Law 195 `became-law`
|
||
- **2025-05-06** Signed by the Governor `executive-signature`
|
||
|
||
## Source
|
||
|
||
OpenStates / OpenCivicData bulk snapshot [2026-07-01](https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump); origin `ocd-bill/9b9044c4-03c0-46ca-88e6-a5a09b1f95a2`. Confidence: reported (aggregated from official Indiana legislature records).
|
||
|