c5c7033001
Co-Authored-By: Claude Opus 4.8 <noreply@anthropic.com>
96 lines
4.2 KiB
Markdown
96 lines
4.2 KiB
Markdown
---
|
||
type: "Bill"
|
||
title: "\"Louisa Carman Medical Debt Relief Act.\""
|
||
description: "\"Louisa Carman Medical Debt Relief Act.\""
|
||
jurisdiction: "us/states/nj"
|
||
legislature: "New Jersey Legislature"
|
||
session: "221"
|
||
identifier: "A 3861"
|
||
citation: "New Jersey A 3861 (221)"
|
||
classification: ["bill"]
|
||
subjects: ["HEALTH FINAN"]
|
||
status: "enacted"
|
||
primary_sponsors: ["Conaway, Herb", "DeAngelo, Wayne P.", "Reynolds-Jackson, Verlina", "Ruiz, M. Teresa", "Turner, Shirley K.", "Verrelli, Anthony S."]
|
||
version_count: 3
|
||
action_count: 8
|
||
vote_count: 4
|
||
first_action: "2024-02-27T05:00:00+00:00"
|
||
last_action: "2024-07-22T04:00:00+00:00"
|
||
source: "openstates"
|
||
source_identifier: "ocd-bill/a01b4802-f703-4e21-849a-70fed9e43900"
|
||
source_url: "https://pub.njleg.state.nj.us/leg-databases/"
|
||
source_hash: "952286ed4d354f392f9bdd6b8bab0804c95eb3f6aeb86a85d762f3adf5334d91"
|
||
vintage: "2026-07-01"
|
||
source_snapshot: "https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump"
|
||
retrieved_at: "2026-07-06"
|
||
confidence: "reported"
|
||
tags: ["legislation", "bill", "us-nj"]
|
||
---
|
||
|
||
# New Jersey A 3861 (221) — "Louisa Carman Medical Debt Relief Act."
|
||
|
||
## Version chain
|
||
|
||
The bill's text revisions, in order — the diff chain from filing to enrollment.
|
||
|
||
1. **Introduced Version** (committee substitute) — [source](https://pub.njleg.state.nj.us/Bills/2024/A4000/3861_I1.HTM)
|
||
2. **Reprint AFI 1R** (committee substitute) — [source](https://pub.njleg.state.nj.us/Bills/2024/A4000/3861_R1.HTM)
|
||
3. **Reprint AFI 6/13/24 2R** (committee substitute) — [source](https://pub.njleg.state.nj.us/Bills/2024/A4000/3861_R2.HTM)
|
||
|
||
## Votes
|
||
|
||
- Not reported out of Assembly Committee with Amendments — **7–0** (pass) · lower
|
||
- 3RDG FINAL PASSAGE — **25–15** (pass) · upper
|
||
- 3RDG FINAL PASSAGE — **60–2** (pass) · lower
|
||
- Reported out of Assembly committee with amendments — **9–0** (pass) · lower
|
||
|
||
## Sponsors
|
||
|
||
- Conaway, Herb — primary (person)
|
||
- DeAngelo, Wayne P. — primary (person)
|
||
- Reynolds-Jackson, Verlina — primary (person)
|
||
- Ruiz, M. Teresa — primary (person)
|
||
- Turner, Shirley K. — primary (person)
|
||
- Verrelli, Anthony S. — primary (person)
|
||
- Bagolie, Rosaura — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Calabrese, Clinton — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Diegnan, Patrick J. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Donlon, Margie — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Hall, Garnet R. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Karabinchak, Robert J. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Lopez, Yvonne — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- McCoy, Tennille R. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- McKeon, John F. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- McKnight, Angela V. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Morales, Carmen Theresa — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Moriarty, Paul D. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Murphy, Carol A. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Park, Ellen J. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Quijano, Annette — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Ramirez, Jessica — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Rodriguez, Gabriel — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Sampson, William B. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Speight, Shanique — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Sumter, Shavonda E. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Swain, Lisa — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Timberlake, Britnee N. — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Tully, Chris — cosponsor (person)
|
||
|
||
## Timeline
|
||
|
||
The legislative action history — every referral, reading, and vote.
|
||
|
||
- **2024-02-27T05:00:00+00:00** Introduced in the Assembly, Referred to Assembly Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee `introduction, referral-committee`
|
||
- **2024-05-20T04:00:00+00:00** Not reported out of Assembly Committee with amendment Assembly Financial Institutions and Insurance Committee
|
||
- **2024-06-13T04:00:00+00:00** Reported out of Assembly Committee with Amendments, 2nd Reading `committee-passage`
|
||
- **2024-06-28T04:00:00+00:00** Passed Assembly (60-2-12) `passage`
|
||
- **2024-06-28T04:00:00+00:00** Received in the Senate without Reference, 2nd Reading
|
||
- **2024-06-28T04:00:00+00:00** Substituted for S2806 (1R)
|
||
- **2024-06-28T04:00:00+00:00** Passed Senate (Passed Both Houses) (25-15) `passage`
|
||
- **2024-07-22T04:00:00+00:00** Approved P.L.2024, c.48. `executive-signature`
|
||
|
||
## Source
|
||
|
||
OpenStates / OpenCivicData bulk snapshot [2026-07-01](https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump); origin `ocd-bill/a01b4802-f703-4e21-849a-70fed9e43900`. Confidence: reported (aggregated from official New Jersey legislature records).
|
||
|