5a13be122b
Co-Authored-By: Claude Opus 4.8 <noreply@anthropic.com>
110 lines
8.0 KiB
Markdown
110 lines
8.0 KiB
Markdown
---
|
||
type: "Bill"
|
||
title: "School boards; boards permitted to enter into College and Career Access Pathways Partnerships."
|
||
description: "Permits each local school board to enter into College and Career Access Pathways Partnerships (Partnerships), currently referred to as agreements, with comprehensive community colleges or other public institutions of higher education or educational institutions that offer a career and technical education curriculum. The bill requires any such Partnership to (i) specify the options for students to take courses as part of the career and technical education curriculum that lead to course credit or an industry-recognized credential, certification, or license concurrent with a high school diploma; (ii) specify the credit, credentials, certifications, or licenses available for such courses; and (iii) specify available options for students to participate in pre-apprenticeship and apprenticeship programs at comprehensive community colleges concurrent with the pursuit of a high school diploma and receive college credit and high school credit for successful completion of any such program. Current law allows local school boards to enter into agreements with such institutions but does not specify course credit as being part of the agreements. The bill provides that participation by a student in any course pursuant to the Partnerships does not deem such student eligible for a grant pursuant to the New Economy Workforce Credential Grant Program."
|
||
jurisdiction: "us/states/va"
|
||
legislature: "Virginia General Assembly"
|
||
session: "2019"
|
||
identifier: "HB 2123"
|
||
citation: "Virginia HB 2123 (2019)"
|
||
classification: ["bill"]
|
||
subjects: ["Education"]
|
||
status: "enacted"
|
||
primary_sponsors: ["Jennifer Carroll Foy"]
|
||
version_count: 7
|
||
action_count: 28
|
||
vote_count: 10
|
||
first_action: "2019-01-08"
|
||
last_action: "2019-03-18"
|
||
source: "openstates"
|
||
source_identifier: "ocd-bill/7e2878c3-4a2d-43ec-a977-df93d4e25343"
|
||
source_url: "http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+sum+HB2123"
|
||
source_hash: "9256e18f8df5b19a995c5a61ef150c52ac0562336f3593cdf3aec47eec45f678"
|
||
vintage: "2026-07-01"
|
||
source_snapshot: "https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump"
|
||
retrieved_at: "2026-07-06"
|
||
confidence: "reported"
|
||
tags: ["legislation", "bill", "us-va"]
|
||
---
|
||
|
||
# Virginia HB 2123 (2019) — School boards; boards permitted to enter into College and Career Access Pathways Partnerships.
|
||
|
||
Permits each local school board to enter into College and Career Access Pathways Partnerships (Partnerships), currently referred to as agreements, with comprehensive community colleges or other public institutions of higher education or educational institutions that offer a career and technical education curriculum. The bill requires any such Partnership to (i) specify the options for students to take courses as part of the career and technical education curriculum that lead to course credit or an industry-recognized credential, certification, or license concurrent with a high school diploma; (ii) specify the credit, credentials, certifications, or licenses available for such courses; and (iii) specify available options for students to participate in pre-apprenticeship and apprenticeship programs at comprehensive community colleges concurrent with the pursuit of a high school diploma and receive college credit and high school credit for successful completion of any such program. Current law allows local school boards to enter into agreements with such institutions but does not specify course credit as being part of the agreements. The bill provides that participation by a student in any course pursuant to the Partnerships does not deem such student eligible for a grant pursuant to the New Economy Workforce Credential Grant Program.
|
||
|
||
## Version chain
|
||
|
||
The bill's text revisions, in order — the diff chain from filing to enrollment.
|
||
|
||
1. **Governor: Acts of Assembly Chapter text (CHAP0582)** (committee substitute) — [source](http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0582)
|
||
2. **House amendments adopted** (committee substitute) — [source](http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+amd+HB2123AH)
|
||
3. **House subcommittee amendments and substitutes adopted** (committee substitute) — [source](https://committees.lis.virginia.gov/subcommitteeaction.aspx?ses=191&bil=HB2123)
|
||
4. **House: Bill text as passed House and Senate (HB2123ER)** (committee substitute) — [source](http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+HB2123ER)
|
||
5. **House: Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/09/19 19103701D** (committee substitute) — [source](http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+HB2123)
|
||
6. **House: Printed as engrossed 19103701D-E** (committee substitute) — [source](http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+HB2123E)
|
||
7. **Senate amendments engrossed** (committee substitute) — [source](http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+amd+HB2123ASE)
|
||
|
||
## Votes
|
||
|
||
- Reported from Education and Health — **15–0** (pass) · upper
|
||
- Reported from Appropriations — **22–0** (pass) · lower
|
||
- Senate amendment agreed to by House — **100–0** (pass) · lower
|
||
- Reported from Education with amendments — **19–2** (pass) · lower
|
||
- Subcommittee recommends reporting — **7–0** (pass) · lower
|
||
- Subcommittee recommends reporting with amendments — **8–0** (pass) · lower
|
||
- Reported from Finance with amendment — **15–0** (pass) · upper
|
||
- Read third time and passed House — **98–0** (pass) · lower
|
||
- Passed Senate with amendment — **40–0** (pass) · upper
|
||
- Constitutional reading dispensed — **40–0** (pass) · upper
|
||
|
||
## Sponsors
|
||
|
||
- Jennifer Carroll Foy — primary (person)
|
||
- Betsy B. Carr — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Debra H. Rodman — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Delores L. McQuinn — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Elizabeth R. Guzman — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Glenn R. Davis — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Kathy K.L. Tran — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Lamont Bagby — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Mark L. Keam — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Roslyn C. Tyler — cosponsor (person)
|
||
- Wendy W. Gooditis — cosponsor (person)
|
||
|
||
## Timeline
|
||
|
||
The legislative action history — every referral, reading, and vote.
|
||
|
||
- **2019-01-08** Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/09/19 19103701D `introduction`
|
||
- **2019-01-08** Referred to Committee on Education `referral-committee`
|
||
- **2019-01-18** Assigned Education sub: Subcommittee #3 `referral-committee`
|
||
- **2019-01-21** Subcommittee recommends referring to Committee on Appropriations
|
||
- **2019-01-23** Referred to Committee on Appropriations `referral-committee`
|
||
- **2019-01-23** Assigned App. sub: Elementary & Secondary Education `referral-committee`
|
||
- **2019-02-01** Read first time `reading-1`
|
||
- **2019-02-04** Read second time `reading-2`
|
||
- **2019-02-04** Committee amendments agreed to
|
||
- **2019-02-04** Engrossed by House as amended HB2123E
|
||
- **2019-02-04** Printed as engrossed 19103701D-E
|
||
- **2019-02-05** Read third time and passed House (98-Y 0-N) `passage, reading-3`
|
||
- **2019-02-06** Constitutional reading dispensed
|
||
- **2019-02-06** Referred to Committee on Education and Health `referral-committee`
|
||
- **2019-02-07** Assigned Education sub: Public Education `referral-committee`
|
||
- **2019-02-14** Rereferred to Finance `referral-committee`
|
||
- **2019-02-20** Read third time `reading-3`
|
||
- **2019-02-20** Reading of amendment waived
|
||
- **2019-02-20** Committee amendment agreed to
|
||
- **2019-02-20** Engrossed by Senate as amended
|
||
- **2019-02-21** Placed on Calendar
|
||
- **2019-02-21** Senate amendment agreed to by House (100-Y 0-N)
|
||
- **2019-02-23** Enrolled
|
||
- **2019-02-23** Signed by Speaker
|
||
- **2019-02-23** Signed by President
|
||
- **2019-03-04** Enrolled Bill communicated to Governor on March 4, 2019
|
||
- **2019-03-04** Governor's Action Deadline Midnight, March 26, 2019
|
||
- **2019-03-18** Approved by Governor-Chapter 582 (effective 7/1/19) `executive-signature`
|
||
|
||
## Source
|
||
|
||
OpenStates / OpenCivicData bulk snapshot [2026-07-01](https://data.openstates.org/daily/2026-07-01/public.pgdump); origin `ocd-bill/7e2878c3-4a2d-43ec-a977-df93d4e25343`. Confidence: reported (aggregated from official Virginia legislature records).
|
||
|